26 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Wild Pear Tree: An incomparable experience
billurdabak3 June 2018
Is it possible to feel the same things with somebody struggling to build his own life, the difficulties he faces to be free from his parents' expectations or oppressions, to realize that they are not his supporters but his obstacles?.maybe a part of it, yes the duration of the film may be longer than the standards (who determines them?) at the end i felt that every scene was necessary to get closer to Sinan's feelings. Asuman who watches a Yilmaz Guney's film, the mother slapping his son's face scene in that film, maybe inspired her to make "why you didn't get the money from him" conversation with her own son or the imams and Sinan's debate about faith, the famous writer's and Sinan dialogue then conflict..even the scene about the tight budget of the lottery salesman maybe reminded Sinan his father's situation. I feel very lucky to watch this film in its original language and I'm still digesting it but as soon as the film ended, i felt like Idris, Asuman, Sinan and all other people around him are still living there, in that town Çan!
41 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect movie despite its length
skyisthelimit92521 June 2018
Nuri Bilge Ceylan is arguably the best director Turkey has ever seen and Ahlat Agaci is definitely one of the best films in recent years that has been made by Turkish directors.

The plot, the acting and the cinematography is simply incredible. As a guy who lives in Turkey, it's very rare to see films with a quality. So in that way, I can easily say that Ahlat Agaci is the best movie in the past 4-5 years.

What stood out for me in the film was that you basically never get bored even though the film is quite long. No unnecessary scenes, no characters that you hate everytime you see them. Definitely a thing to consider.

NBC is so undervalued and underrated, at least in his homecountry. Interestingly enough, European cinema appreciates him and he almost always participates in Cannes Film Festival, but I'm %100 sure that half of Turkey doesn't even know his name. It's sad, but it also says a lot about the general look to cinema sector in Turkey.

Thanks to people like NBC, though, we can watch 'real' and 'non-American made' films.

Quality film by an incredible director. 10/10
25 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
repeating the awesome experience of Winter Sleep
sraswel2 January 2019
I remember very well the night I watched Winter Sleep in cinema. The movie was 3+ hrs and once it finished, I didn't notice at all we have spent 3 hrs watching. I could easily go more. That night experience is one the sweetest experiences that I ever had with Cinema. I was hoping to repeat the same experience and damn it again happened. The movie is story of a graduated guy that returns to his village. He wants to be writer. He has a once respected but now gambler father that is the reason of shame for him. He hates the village and all the people there. He wishes even to destroy there. The movie is the story of relationship of a son and father. Father as symbol of identity of the son. The feeling of moving on from your own identity and yet sill being stuck in it. Sinan hates his father but at the same time pities him. He wishes he could move on. At the end of movie Sinan realizes that the father is the wisest and sees himself in father. The father is the wild pear tree and so the Sinan. Bilge Ceylan was photographer and you can find amazing pictures in his movie. The scene that is taken from high and they are driving the truck in snow is amazing. The movie has some masterpiece scenes such as Sinan encounter with Hatice. The way their chat goes and twists to a erotic end, mix with the winds that splashes Hatice hair is so well made.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best of NBC
uzay15622 June 2018
Perfect acting, funny dialogues, slow but intense. I could have continued to watch for 3 more hours.
23 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Magnificent and poetic !
Nuri Bilge Ceylan challenge himself in every movie he make. He is in the top 5 directors living. Wild pear tree is one of masterpiece in 2018. Every cinema lover must see.
17 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Witty and Beautiful
Raven-19694 November 2018
The wind rises as Sinan and Hatice kiss at a spring on the outskirts of the forest. It is the threshold of many things, not merely the forest. A few steps in the right direction will lead to love and the fulfillment of dreams. The wrong steps invite heartbreak and the crushing weight of societal expectations. Which way to go?! While Sinan inspires Hatice to let her hair down, a big step in Turkey, he can't seem to help himself. The gambling addiction, fawning desire to please and wild schemes of his father are not where Sinan wants to go, yet understanding his father is the key to understanding himself, for better or worse. Wild pears are isolated misfits, and so are father and son.

This witty and beautiful film is full of metaphors, wonderful imagery and deep, intriguing conversations. The film revolves around many interesting themes. Among these themes is that ruptures in the soul should be treated with joy and patience for they help us discover who we are. The cinematography is luminous, mesmerizing and far ranging from lamp lit streets at night, rainfall and close-ups of Hatice's flowing hair. I want to linger in each place. It is a long film, but for what it reveals about contemporary Turkish society and human nature, it is a fantastic bargain and worth the price. From the director of Winter Sleep and Once Upon a Time in Anatolia. Seen at the 2018 Toronto International Film Festival.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Magnificient!
cuneytcamgoz15 June 2018
Make sure that after you watched this movie, you feel like finishing a novel.
20 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A step backwards in Ceylan's cinema
sakarkral4 June 2018
It has been 21 years since Ceylan shot his first feature film Kasaba, whose main theme was an intellectual young man's desperate, family-stuck life in the countryside with no way out. After this film throughout his film career he focused on different themes as well of course, from middle class criticism (Climates) to film noir (Three Monkeys). But, being from Turkey, eventually in his last movies he returned to the countryside tales again. Especially this movie, The Wild Pear Tree, seemed to me as if Ceylan suffered from a partial amnesia and forgot that he shot the movie Kasaba. So he blended this "brand new film idea" with his recently developed film aesthetics and here we have The Wild Pear Tree.

In his first movies Ceylan barely had a story, he only had "themes". The rest of the movie was wonderful photography and this is what he got famous for. Then, founding clever collaborations, he learnt how to tell stories as well. But the question here is: does he really have a new story to tell? Turkey has changed a lot since Kasaba, but Ceylan's representations look like they are here to stay eternally. For instance, while Ceylan still hold on to the "intellectual stuck in the countryside" stereotype, intellectuals in the Turkish countryside either made it to the metropolises or they are replaced/outdated by the emerging religious elite.

So instead of telling a new story, Ceylan seems like he chose to "garnish" what he already has, with neverending dialogues unattached to each other. Dialogue with the girl, dialogue with the mayor, with the businessman, with the writer, with the police friend, with the imams and with this and this and this. Kind of a video game, one "countryside monster" at a time. So I think this movie is a rococo remake of minimalist Kasaba.

So if you tolerate the theatrical lines in the first dialogues, the movie is a nice one to see. But in comparison to the last 2 movies of Ceylan, this is certainly a step backwards (and surprisingly, this backwardness is evident also in the photography).
26 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
NBC's most complete film
saraccan2 June 2018
The main character has a very rich and interesting personality, as well as the other characters that surround him. The cinematography is amazing as usual but some of the weird things that happen during the moving shots make them far less impressive than the glorious still shots.

It's very easy to find things from your own life within the story and the dialogues that occur which makes a lot of the little-longer-than-usual scenes very engaging and that makes you wonder how the dialogue is gonna develop and conclude.

I normally don't care too much about the length of movies but I'm a little bit on the negative side with this one. That's mainly because of what I told myself halfway through the movie which was; "Ohhh, we're only halfway" instead of "Yeahhh, we're only halfway".

It's about a young writer who recently finished university. He must move back to his village from the city where he went to school. So his struggles start as he doesn't want to get used to the village life.
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
like a beginner writer
Orhan_Akdeniz21 June 2018
This film is better than "Town", "Three Monkeys" and "Climates" but not as well as others. There is a lot of didactic dialogue in the film. As if the director imitated the dialogue of novice writers. Because the main character is a beginner writer. Even if it really is the goal, it is still bad.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A masterpiece!
willeasyer2 January 2019
This is my last movie of the year and I guess I left the best for last. some people may complain about its length but I think it was necessary, as each scene was imminent to convey its full meaning. This film is amazing on so many levels and I hope I would do it justice in my limited humble review. First I fell in love with it because I was reminded of my childhood, my days in our native village, the family ties, the panorama etc... everything about this film screamed my past; and I identified to the character of Sinan; a man with so many fantasies, dreams and deep visions, a martyr of his upbringings, life situation, his village and family an intelligent tale about facing life, finding his meaning after college and dealing with a family he sees as an obstacles rather than a support. this movie is in its way a literary artifact that needs deep study and interpretation. another thing that passioned me about this film is its interpretation of Father son Relationships, the significance of someone and happiness in the middle of existence void in a conservative restrained society, it tackles it through the lenses of literature, perception, fate, and religion. AIso; I admire the ending with the two supposed conclusions, you either throw yourself in the pit and dig with no resolution or just end it once for all; living the choice for us to choose the reality and the hallucination between this two. Second, this film is a cinematic delight I don't know how to articulate it or frame it but the filming and the direction are outstanding; it's a visual treat transporting and touching you can put it on mute and still enjoy the hell out of it. really a great way to end a beautiful year full of great movies.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
forbidden piece
CitizenKaneAAAAA16 December 2018
The film depicted a cliche plot of life that happen everywhere in the world that nobody in hollywood would ever produce. it's a loser story, something that might not be "inspiring", "uplifting", and just plain depressing and plays at key minor at an instrument (even tho there's some note changes at the end). it's a taboo song that people often treat as a myth. it's like discovering Bicycle Thieves and Mouchette once again.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Movie. But not as good as Winter Sleep
aliurganci3 December 2018
I would say this movie is absolutely a great one. But I prefer Winter Sleep because of its deep conversations and better pictures. NBC keeps making splendid movies. He is probably my one of favorite 2-3 directors.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Different
aliurganci3 December 2018
This is not an ordinary one. A typical Nuri Bilge Ceylan movie. Ahlat Agaci is like a novel. Very nice movie. Also see other movies of NBC.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Superb movie
nadineacoury9 August 2018
Not a single word or image is futile, every human issue is debated (love, parenthood, family, religion, art, faith, society, politics, belonging, friendship, money, principles, etc.), how did they do it?
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Sinan is a great character !
aramkx12 January 2019
Wonderful dialogs, wonderful acting. Sinan is a very unique character , depressive but not emotional , hard to explain. His father another great character and their relation makes everyone think and feel deep. Its a long movie , though very entertaining and enjoyable.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very Powerful No Agitation
goren-6046311 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Again another film with lots of characters from real life with universal concerns and problems reflected very successfully... Another part I liked about this film is small town people having some deep existential discussions made very natural where nothing stands out as made up or boring.

I must say I am as much or even more intrigued by the father character where him being different, isolated and looked down by others because of somewhat materialistic failures in his life (gambling etc.), but yet somewhat he represents the true success in life by living a self sufficient life in a small basement, with a dog and other animals, still with a sense of humor, with no harm done to anyone or expecting much of anything from anyone, and in the end perhaps being the least depressed. Furthermore certainly by being the only person who cared for his son's writing.

Like many people to me the more I think about the film afterwards means the better that film is and I sure still think about, and digest this film and the anecdotes within.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great movie, but falls short of Winter Sleep
warthogjump3 January 2019
The Wild Pear Tree is Nuri Ceylan's most recent long, compelling character study of a newly graduated student struggling to publish his supposedly unique book about life living in Canakkale. The movie can be said to be the sum of Sinan's interactions with various people throughout the film, including his father who has a gambling addiction, his mother and sister who don't seem overly supportive of him, his apparent love interest, various publishers, religious imams and public figures, and of course other famous writers. The move is very dialogue driven, but it is also not at the same time, given its long runtime, there are also many scenes of simple quietness, and mere great cinematography. However, at times, it feels as though Ceylan has dragged it too far. He appears to have gotten too comfortable in the Director's seat and it feels as though some dialogue scenes and some scenes showcasing amazing cinematography are too long. The plot, or at least the main background story following the move along, also does not feel as compelling as his previous film Winter Sleep. Overall, the movie is great, but also tends to drag a bit. In his previous film Winter Sleep, I think Ceylan got the balance right for achieving the classification 'masterpiece.' However, in the Wild Pear Tree, it is merely a good movie with its flaws, and the main flaw anyone will feel coming out of the film is some of the unnecessary runtime.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not this time!
murat_e22 December 2018
What I expected today was to watch a standard NBC film with good photography, long dialogues, etc. However, this time NBC fails to make a good film compared to his recent films such as Winter Sleep, Three Monkeys and Distant. Wild Pear Tree is far from achieving an articulate scenario; suffering from usual-acting-quality, incomplete characters, not-so-relevant-music-score... Dialogues are too difficult to follow; not only the actors mumble the words but also the sentences are sometimes too weak to give a meaning to. Pity for all the effort but still hopeful for the next films by NBC.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
le poirier
marine7527 June 2018
Too long .The discussion on islam between 2 imams is boring .for me Winter Sleep was much better .
11 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thanks to NBC!
fzulkadiroglu5 December 2018
NBC, which I've been looking forward to coming out of the film every year and showing us excellence without breaking our hopes in every new movie. Thank you for leaving us delicious flavors on every film.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Pear Tree without fruits
gaiadam9334 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Like a kind of theater walking, this film by Nury Bilge Ceylan insists in talks and talks adorned with suggestive color and some impressive landscapes, but what is wanted to be a deep philosophical exposition through the voices of relegated people in a far away place is no more than a wearisome shallow conversation about life, literature, religion, love, failure,family relation,money and what not. The father of the writer wants to discover water in a dry well, his son at the end prosecutes the unsuccessful, labor. The same result for the movie. Only the dogs, in silence or barking, and one of them committing suicide say more than the long verbosity .
4 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very disappointing movie...
gulsumozturk3 July 2018
As a big fan of Nuri Ceylan, my expectations of this movie was very high. However, it had too many unnecessary conversations from the beginning to the end. I felt really boring and I could not find any scenes to watch. All I can say is that I was very disappointed with it. And it is not worth to spend your time and money.
12 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
worst movie of NBC so far
furkanov2 June 2018
As a lover of Nuri Bilge Ceylan's (NBC) previous professional works, i found this one rather raw comparing the other films of him.

First and biggest con of Ahlat Agaci is, NBC's approach to Anatolian people. He looks like he becomes more and more ignorant to Anatolians and sees less good inside them, so you can clearly feel as NBC's popularity among EU and other world climbs higher, his vision of his people got blurred and twisted by his political and ideological views.

He once said while receiving greatest prize ever; "I dedicate the prize to my lonely and beautiful country." But now, without his plain and crystal clear artistry, his country is more beautiful but lonelier.

As the others cons of the film, all the followers of NBC's works would agree that technical specifications and awe inspiring photography is clearly absent when you compare Ahlat Agaci to Bir Zamanlar Anadolu'da or Kis Uykusu.

Conclusion; not a very bad movie but, not arguably worst of his.
16 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
cry when you do it
fatihtuysuz7 December 2018
He is a pride for turks. I would like to take part in his film as lead actor.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed